I was on vacation this last week, hence the lack of posts as of lately. On my vacation I had the privileged enough to be able to see the summer blockbuster Guardians of the Galaxy. 

Marvel's Guardians Of The Galaxy...Milano..Ph: Film Frame..?Marvel 2014

Guardians was hands down the best Marvel movie to this date. The movie had everything I could want in a movie let alone a comic book movie. I will start with the cast. The cast was completely phenomenal. Each actor was chosen as almost perfect fits for each of their respective characters. Chris Pratt gets the MVP of the movie. He really stepped up his acting and slimmed down as he buffed up for the intergalactic space bandit, Star Lord.

chris pratt

I was initially hesitant with Bradley Cooper when he was cast as one of my favorite Guardians Rocket. Rocket is a raccoon and a bad ass raccoon at that. He is somewhat a funny Punisher type who kill anything and everything he needs to, so that he can get paid. All regrets aside Cooper killed his role. The humor he brought and the voice were both amazing. I loved his character.

 

 

 

 

bradley cooper as rockeyvin grrot

 

As with Bradley being Rocket, I was wondering how Vin Diesel would do as the vocabulary limited tree warrior Groot. Vin killed his role as well. Even though Groot only says” I am Groot” Each time it is different and impressionable. He made me care for groot and make him one of my favorite parts of the film.

Zoe Saldana was awesome as Gomorrah. I did not know much about her other than she was Thanos’s Daughter and not by choice. She looked the part, and was a complete badass chick in the movie.

zoe saldan

Last but definitely not least is Dave Batista as Drax the Destroyer. Dave was great. He was funny and had extremely quotable lines.He had such a deadpan humor and the way he delivered his lines were hilarious

draxdave

And finnaly all the baddies and side characters were so great. I really liked Ronan and who didn’t enjoy seeing the biggest bad ass in all of Marvel, Thanos..

"Labor Day" - Mayfair Gala European Premiere - Red Carpet Arrivals: 57th BFI London Film Festival

 

All in all Guardians is one of my favorite movies I have seen in a very long time. The acting,humor, and the story were all huge selling points. I give the film a rare 5/5. It is my favorite Marvel movie. The characters had enough individual greatness to be viable on their own, so all of them together was comic book bliss. Go and see it now. 

 

 

 

 

 

11 responses »

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Good review. Had a very lovely time with this. More so than any other Marvel movie since the Avengers.

  2. SarahClare says:

    I am Groot!

    I liked this film – I think it was a little predictable towards the end. BUT I thought that the humour in it was first class. It’s a fun film for sure. Cool review!

    Also, Batista was definitely the best in the way of casting. He rocked!

  3. Solid review for a great movie. I’m so glad they introduced the Kree empire into the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Maybe we’ll get to see the Inhumans one day.

    The tone of the movie was great, just the right amount of humor to move things along.

    And beautiful looking! The design on the Milano, the energy field created by the Nova Corp ships, the images of the past when the Collector was talking the history of the stone, all amazingly detailed and great.

  4. […] Guardians’s of the Galaxy blog review August 1st […]

  5. Tim Seals says:

    It was an awesome movie, especially the spoiler after the movie. I agree everyone did a good job in the movie. I wish that Nebula, played by Karen Gilian (Amy Pond from Doctor Who) had a bigger role. Hands down, it and Avengers are the best movies Marvel Studios have produced so far. I can not decide which of the two is overall better.

Leave a Reply

